Zoom Forward

 

In-Meeting Controls: Screen Sharing on a Laptop/Desktop

Now that you know how to schedule a meeting in Zoom, let’s learn how to use one of the interactive features it offers: share screen.

Whether you are sharing your webcam or just sharing information, using the share screen function can liven up your meetings and create an opportunity for significantly more interaction between the host and the attendees.

STEP 1: Go to your ‘Meetings’ tab, and launch your meeting.

STEP 2: Select ‘Join with Computer Audio’.
STEP 3: Select ‘Share Screen’ from the in-meeting control bar. This button is usually highlighted in green.

Alternately, you may see a ‘Share’ button in the meeting screen itself (see below). Clicking this button will also bring up the same sharing options.


STEP 4: Next, you’ll be presented a menu of all of your sharing options.


1.) Simply click the thumbnail for ‘Main Screen’, or for whichever of the other options you’d like to share with the attendees. As you can see, you can choose from any application you have open on your computer. In next month’s newsletter, we will explore more about the ‘Whiteboard’ option.

2.) Next, you can choose whether you would like to ‘Share Computer Sound’, which is helpful when you will be sharing an audio or video clip or presentation. If you will not be sharing anything that will be playing audio from your computer, you can leave this box unchecked. NOTE: Zoom cautions against using the ‘Optimize for full screen video clip’ option, unless you will be sharing only a full screen video, because it can reportedly make your screen appear blurry to attendees.

3.) Lastly, click the blue ‘Share’ button, and your screen will be broadcast to the meeting attendees.

You also have some advanced options to choose from under the ‘Advanced’ tab.

1.) Portion of Screen- You are able to share only a portion of your screen. When selected, this option gives you a box that you can move around your screen to share only a portion of it at a time. This can be helpful for highlighting information and controlling access to information that is displayed on the screen, so you can keep the attendees’ focus on only a portion of the information until you would like them to shift focus.

2.) Computer Sound Only- This option allows you to share only your computer’s audio. Information displayed on your screen would not be shared with attendees. This would be helpful for playing only the audio from a video clip or for playing audio-only clips.

3.) Content from Second Camera- This feature would be helpful if an additional camera, such as a document camera, were connected to your computer, and you wanted to display only what that camera was focused on.

STEP 5: You have several in-meeting controls at your disposal as you share your screen. While you are sharing your screen, your meeting controls will disappear at the top of your screen, and you will see only a green box with your Meeting ID in it and a red box with ‘Stop Share’.

If you hover your pointer over the top of the screen, your in-meeting controls bar will be displayed, so you can access all of your participant and meeting management tools. NOTE: You will also likely see a ‘Start/Stop Video’ button in the control bar; the sample below does not include this button.

Here is a brief breakdown of the in-meeting controls available to you during a screen-share (NOTE: Some controls may be available to you only if you are the host of the meeting.):

1. Mute/Unmute: Allows you to mute and unmute your own microphone.

2. Start/Stop Video: Allows you to start and stop your own video.

3. Manage Participants: Provides a list of all participants (attendees and host) in the meeting, as well as controls for each. In this window, you may ‘Rename’ or ‘Mute/Unmute’ an individual attendee by hovering your pointer over that person’s name and selecting the appropriate button. You may also ‘Mute All’ participants or ‘Unmute All’ participants. Finally, under ‘More’, you may do the following:
a. Mute participants on entry
b. Allow participants to unmute themselves
c. Play enter/exit chime
d. Lock meeting


4. New Share: You may select ‘New Share’ from the toolbar to share a different screen or application.

5. Pause/Resume Share: If you need to switch to something else on your computer screen momentarily and you do not want the attendees to see or you simply don’t want to disrupt the screen share, you can select ‘Pause Share’. This will turn the green Meeting ID box yellow and, instead of the Meeting ID, it will display “Your desktop sharing is paused.” The ‘Pause Share’ button becomes ‘Resume Share’ until you click on it to continue sharing your screen.

6. Annotate: The ‘Annotate’ button can be selected in order to make your screen even more interactive. A new toolbar will become visible with all features available through the annotation function. A screenshot of this toolbar is below:


Next month’s newsletter article will feature a breakdown of all of the controls available to you for annotation.

7. More: This button allows you access to these functions:
a. Chat (Alt + H)
b. Invite (Alt + I)
c. Record on this Computer
d. Record to the Cloud
e. Disable Participants Annotation- You would still be able to use the annotation functions, but other meeting attendees would not.
f. Audio Settings/Switch to Phone Audio
g. Video Settings
h. Optimize Share for Full-screen Video Clip
i. End Meeting

STEP 6: When you are done, simply click ‘Stop Share’ at the top of the screen to end your screen share. You can also select ‘End Meeting’ from your dropdown options at the top of the screen if you have concluded all of the business in your meeting for the day.

Finally, for some added helpful points for all of you keyboard shortcut fans out there, here is a list of the keyboard shortcuts applicable to screen sharing! NOTE: These shortcuts will only work if the in-meeting control toolbar has focus. If you can’t see the toolbar, and it’s not the primary focus, these controls will not work for you.

Alt+S: Launch/Stop a screen share.
Alt+Shift+S: Start/Stop a new screen share. This is helpful for when you would like to jump from one screen share to another.
Alt+T: Pause/Resume screen share.

 

more INFO